Skip to content

The seedlings in your life and business…

November 10, 2012

“The key to creating a great list of commitment beliefs is to throw off any notion of what they should be and simply brainstorm a bit about the best traits of your organization. Think about your people. Who on your team embodies what your company stands for? … Once more for emphasis: This is not a list of what ought to be or what sounds impressive. This is a list of what is, even if what is today isn’t as fully developed as you know it can be.” – John Jantsch The Commitment Engine,  p. 112

That was a bit of a revelation to me. The idea that values or what John calls “committed beliefs” are actually not ideals but are simply uncovering things that are already true about your business. And further they do not have to be tied to great achievements. They are more like little seedlings that are showing promise. They are attributes that already exist AND that you want to see more of. This was actually quite freeing.

And beyond that, a lot more fun personally!
I’m not sure if its just how my brain is wired but exercises that are designed to help you brainstorm vision and visualizing all the incredible “what if’s?” and “Someday we’ll be a $200 gazillion company led by yours truly who by then will be a perfect but utterly unique blend of Mother Theresa, Stephen Hawking and Richard Branson.”  That shit right there, wears me out! I need vision and I like to dream and explore ideas but when it gets too detached from my regular work I get a little squirrelly. By nature I’m geared for the more tactical elements of an enterprise – moving ideas from A-Z, the execution side.

So as I reflected on what is already true about my business and from that list what do I want to see more of I came up with these ideas and I’m trying them out here to see how they land. In no particular order and in “shitty first draft” (Anne Lammott) form….

1. Local love: I want Center City Collision to do good in the neighborhood. To be generous to local initiatives like Norwood Rugby, the Service League, and Norwood Promise. I want to be a good neighbor. I want us to be a ‘hub business’ that unites small businesses, encourages entrepreneurs, and serves the wider business community.

2. Care and compassion: Our tag line is “Collision repair by people who care.” I desire a culture of care for our customers and team members (employees) that has the ability to listen with genuine empathy and warmth. We recognize that everyone matters and everyone is created in God’s image so we treat people with kindness and respect no matter what their attitude or orientation or politic or gender or color or economic standing happens to be. Our approach across the board starts and ends with healthy, life affirming relationships.

3. Serving a higher purpose. Center City Collision was founded as a means to fund and do ministry. It has evolved beyond that quite quickly but I never want to lose that. I wrote about that in a previous post but as a summary all good work is part of the ongoing transformation and re-creation of the earth. Work is simply order out of chaos just like the Ancient Spirit did at creation (Genesis 1,2) where the Spirit is to said to be “brooding over the chaos” and bringing forth life. When we repair a wrecked that is the same thing. Bringing order out of chaos. Its true in your work as well. But transformation happens on many levels and our hope is to see many buildings, businesses, homes, and lives re-newed as we do our daily work and find new opportunities to bring order and flourishing.

4. Environmental stewardship. Kinda folds into #3 maybe ??

5. Joy. We want people who engage with Center City to be happier because if it. This guy has got me thinking about the possibilities of bringing more joy and happiness to myself and others

6. Creativity. Our design, business innovations, being an “industry transformer” are all important to us. For starters, our logo kicks ass! =) Thanks E!

7. Integrity. Our yes is yes. We want to make and keep promises to our neighborhood, our customers, our team and our partners.

This is just a rough draft. I’m sure things will get moved around, expanded, altered, etc… and hopefully written/ lived in a way that inspires.

But in these ideas I see seedlings that could become Oaks if given time and attention in the years ahead.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2012 1:58 pm

    A most awesome list Kevin – me thinks you’ve got it!

  2. November 10, 2012 2:31 pm

    Kevin, every time you write about what you are thinking, I have just one response: “Thanks for bing in my life.”

    • November 12, 2012 11:14 am

      Tom, the feeling and experience is mutual! Thanks for reading and commenting and being such an encouragement to me over the past couple of years…. means a lot.

  3. Mark Tindall permalink
    November 10, 2012 3:17 pm

    I love the video, too. Planning my next accident for Cincinnati.

    For consideration, regarding point 5. As a non-car guy, I just want my car guy to tell me the truth. I’ll pay the cost and not begrudge profit at all, just don’t put your thumb on the scale and take advantage of my ignorance.

    • November 12, 2012 11:16 am

      Mark, thanks for the feedback…. I certainly hope you do not wreck your car in Cinicinnati or anywhere else for that matter =) There are easier ways to get to see me… just ask =) TRust you guys are doing well. I enjoy seeing the pictures of your adventures on FB.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,330 other followers

