Skip to content

Pan’s Labyrinth

February 3, 2007

It’s going to be difficult for me not to use excessive superlatives (there I go already!) about this film. My wife asked me how I liked it last night and the words “I think it might be my favorite film of all time” came tumbling out. “Wow. I haven’t heard you say that since Braveheart. What did you like about it?” Great question and worthy of a my first WordPress blog post. If you plan to see it what follows might contain some spoilers. Proceed with caution but I’ll give further warnings as we edge toward a real spoiler.

It is the gospel told with elements of fairy tale and real history. The film is set simeltaneously in two places: 1930’s Spain at a time of political unrest and the alternative reality of the main character. For that last sentance I started to write “the mind of the main character”… then “a fantasy world that the main character conjures up” then something about “make believe.” None of those fit because as i watched the film I was taken with how this girl actually inhabited another realm of reality. That’s it. Another realm of reality. I bought it. The world she inhabited was just as real as the one the violence and political unrest occurred in only not everyone could see it. It was an alternative kingdom where her “dead” father resided, filled with beauty and peace and joy. ***Real spoiler afoot *** And the way she ultimately accessed that reality and saved another’s life was via suffering and shedding her innocent blood. The intersection of fairy tale and a common element of the vast majority of religions – blood sacrifice. More importantly to me as follower of Jesus: it rang of truth veiled as a marvelous story. An amazing parable.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2007 12:06 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. February 14, 2007 6:00 am

    Man I want to see that movie so bad!..and thanks for putting up the spoiler comment…it makes we want to see it even worse now, heh. Thanks again!

  3. March 12, 2007 4:45 pm

    Kevin, I heard an NPR interview with Guillermo del Toro a couple of months ago and he had a lot of interesting things to say about the importance of fantasy and myth in a child’s life. I heard him talk about “the faun” and “the pale man” and the intersection of fantasy and faith and I knew I had to see the movie.

    So… I saw Pan’s Labyrinth a couple weeks ago and it completely wrecked me. It wrecked me the way God wrecks me when I’ve grown too hard and he has to break through in a really painful way–because, for me, that’s usually the only way.

    It’s a painful movie to see. It’s a bit gruesome (okay, really gruesome) and made me turn my head a few times for fear of nightmares, but I would still recommend it to most anyone.

    The cinematography is brilliant, the acting is fabulous, the story is fascinating. And I love a movie with redemption at the end.

    I was a wreck for practically 24 hours after that movie. Serious business.

Leave a Reply

