Skip to content

The cafe is officially open…

February 25, 2007

Last night was the Grand Opening of the Speckled Bird Cafe and what an opening it was! It was such a delight to see so many people there — a lot of VC-Norwood relocation posse were there, a strong contingent from the Speckled Bird house church conglomerate in Northside, and (especially exciting to me) a bunch of others from the neighborhood.

Speckled Bird opening night

Speckled Bird cafe seats

The highlight for me, and there were many… like a month’s worth… but the absolute highlight was a guy named J.G. (that’s his real name… I’m not using initials to be cute or anonymous). I met JG at another coffee shop – the one that burns their coffee and charges waaaay too much – about a year and a half ago. Turns out he lives right behind my shop and owns property about 100 feet from the back of the church building. He actually owns properties in several different neighborhoods. At one point in the conversation he says to me “I’ve been thinking this past week that i wanted out of west Norwood. I was ready to pack it up and head back to Hyde Park and stop fooling with this declining neighborhood. But all that has changed in the last 24 hours since meeting you folks and seeing this space open. Now I can see it’s worth sticking around.”

“You’ll be known as those who can fix anything, restore old ruins, rebuild and renovate, making the community livable again.” Isaiah 58:12

My hats off to you Jona and Jill and everyone else who worked hard to make this a reality.
God’s dream for west Norwood is alive and well, being expressed right before our eyes…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2007 3:36 pm

    That’s FANTASTIC news, kedge! Both about the cafe opening, and also JG’s response. Way to go with the ol’ incarnational ministry stuff 😉

  2. February 25, 2007 9:54 pm

    OK, lets see the place has now shown its self…so lets meet @ The Bird! All I need for you to do is let me know what time and where is best? 😉 This makes me VERY happy…ans man I love that scripture!!!

Leave a Reply

