Skip to content

Chad died one year ago today…

March 10, 2007

Chad Canipe

One year ago today I lost a treasured, trusted friend and kingdom ally. There are other who feel the loss even more keenly: his wife Renee, sons Colin and Aiden, and a host of other family and friends who knew him better. Today we remember together and we grieve together. Along with my family, I have the unique privilege today of spending the day with Renee, Colin and Aiden. We’ll see a movie, eat pizza at Dewey’s, and play together. I want to do my best to provide enough distraction so the day does not degenerate into incapacitating grief but also allow room for reflection and joy for a life though cut short was well lived. I want to honor Chad as a great son, husband, father and friend.

If you have the opportunity read p. 162 in the book Celtic Daily Prayer. It’s about St. Chad (the old, old one not the one we knew in person). Chad was the saint of willing service and always being prepared for death.

***

Here’s some things I wrote last year…

Poema

This is the name of the church Chad Canipe intended to plant this Spring. He left a podcast of his vision. If you haven’t listened to it, I highly recommend it.

Turns out Poema is the spanish word for ‘poem’ and the greek word (poiema) for creation. It is related to our word poem and carries the idea of a masterpiece, artistry and creativity. It is from Ephesians 2.10 where the ideas – 2 of my favorites!- are forever linked: creativity and mission, artistry and purpose. We, you and I, are God’s workmanship twice created: once on the flesh and once in the spirit, the Imago Dei united with the New Humanity that is resulting from the resurrection. So I paraphrase and pray…

+++ Lord, we are your masterpiece, your poem, your treasured art created once in your image and then re-created by the power of your new life for the very purpose of loving you, loving neighbor and caring for creation. Help us to fulifll this high call. Lead us to the purposes you have for us. Today. This hour. Help us to see what you are doing and follow your lead. Amen. +++

Don’t forget to set your watches and palm pilots for 10:02am to pray for God to raise up 100 workers to carry forward Chad’s vision of planting grasroots communities of faith… Communities of poemas: creativity and mission. I’m praying for 100 in Cincinnati, 100 in Vermont, 100 in San Diego, 100 in North Carolina, 100 in Minneapolis…

***

1. Our house church, the Tuesday gathering that Chad was a part of, processed Chad’s death together. Steve N captured it in writing so well that I don’t want to attempt a partial treatment. Just go check it out if you’re interested. It was an amazing time — somewhat speculative, very joyful and hopeful. The kind of gathering Chad loved. Heady and Hearty stuff together.

2. We began the time together listening to a podcast of Chad’s voice, telling the vision for Poema, the church he and Renee intended to start in a few short weeks. It is well worth a listen just to hear his voice but to hear him sharing vision and he closes with some remarks about God bringing good out of pain and tragedy. Stellar.Click on the Podcast…

3. I’ve been praying Luke 10:2 everyday for a number of months now. It is a prayer Jesus told his followers to pray about God raising up workers for a harvest of souls. There are many others praying it as well. It was a movement started by my friends John White and Kenny Moore in Denver, CO. We pray it at 10:02am (from Luke 10:2) everyday. It has just taken on a much deeper meaning and focus for me in Chad’s death. I literally want God to AVENGE Chad’s death by raising up 100 workers to replace him in greater Cincinnati; 100 new kingdom minded people who will plant “grass roots communities of faith in the city” (Chad’s words) over the next 2 years. Will join me in this daily prayer at 10:02am and 2 year goal? ** if yes, post in the comments below and we’ll keep track of who is praying who is beign raised up as workers **

I wasn’t ready…

I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to my friend and ally Chad Canipe. I grieve for the gap his wife and boys and parents and the rest of his family must feel. His memorial service was yesterday and it truly turned out well. I knew we did well when Renee told me that Chad would have loved it. I am overflowing right now with thoughts and emotions, many that I hope to process here and in person with many of you. We’ve been telling Chad stories all weekend long and it has been good to remember what an amazing life he lived. I miss him and long for our reunion.

For now though we battle on without him.

+++ May we honor him and the One he loved the most in the fight for justice and peace, joy and love to rule our lives and the neighborhoods we find ourselves in. +++

In Chad’s words, “God is not far away and in fact he is using our ‘place’ to help us find him.”

I miss my friend.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2007 12:51 pm

    hey kevin,
    i’ll be praying for you and your family as you hang out and give presence to chad’s family today.
    may you share great memories and laughter as you remember him together.

    also, i’m psyched about all that is happening at VC and grateful to be a small part of it all.
    thanks for the welcome, and the hospitality.

    blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
    be blessed today big guy.
    lil

  2. March 10, 2007 6:10 pm

    I’m looking at his face there and the thought that that pops into my mind is “yeah, I’ll see Chad next time I’m in Cincinnati” – that’s how unreal it is. We weren’t really close, but he was my friend. I know, though, that he is not far away from us. And of course I am of the mind that he is still able to pray for us. He has a bigger clue than we do at this point. Peace and comfort and strength to Renee, Colin and Aiden, and to you. Pray for us, Chad.

  3. March 11, 2007 8:09 pm

    I’m one of those who never met Chad, but knew him from the blogosphere and have heard the Poema podcast many times over now. I continue to grieve for him, and pray for comfort for the family.

    I wish I could participate in Cincinnati gathering this year, but please know – all of you there – that I’m with you in spirit.

  4. March 12, 2007 3:57 pm

    Shabbot Shalom.

  5. Rambo permalink
    March 13, 2007 4:23 pm

    Powerful stuff…so at 10:02 a.m. here in the great Pacific Northwest, I’ll take my Celtic Prayer book, turn to page 162 and read it out loud…then I’ll turn to Luke 10:2 and pray that for a spell and then pray for grassroots communities of faith to spring up all over where God can love on folks and their broken pieces.

    grace Kev!

  6. May 27, 2010 3:55 pm

    thekedge.wordpress.com’s done it again. Great writing.

Leave a Reply

