Skip to content

Looking for that unifying passion…

April 18, 2007

Been feeling a bit scattered lately… and the previous post about not being able to rest… these are the indicators for me that it is time for a retreat. I’m probably overdue. Retreats are just in a different category than consistent days off or vacations. They are more about soul rest and hearing God and clarity about my life’s direction.

Tracy noticed the other day that I just have not been myself lately (translation: anxous, frustrated, grumpy). I didn’t really have a reason to give but what spilled out of my mouth was “I don’t have a unifying passion, a center right now.” I think i was on to something without even realizing it cognitively. The soul knows and sometimes it tells the mouth to say it.

Thanks for all the feedback on the previous post re: rest. I’m still chewing on it all but deeply appreciative for my online friends and voyeurs!

Please pray for the business. It’s a bit of a rollar coaster indstry. We were living large with the snow a couple months ago but now it’s reduced to a trickle. If you need your car fixed the deals are good right now as shops – at least in this area – are hungry for work.

+ peace be with you this day +

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2007 4:52 pm

    i long for the same rest….especially since I am starting to feel myself get sick. Let us know what you have come up with. I today started re-reading N.T. Wright’s “The New Testament And The People Of God”…. I remember at one point in time on of our your posts back a while that you mentioned that you might read this trilogy. How is it going? If you have or have not… I would love to meet with you ever so often and discuss it. God bless you! And I might be calling you to give my car a check-up and change the oil.

  2. April 18, 2007 6:12 pm

    a unifying passion…a center…hmmmm…

    when i feel that way is definitely when i need a retreat…i need to get my desperate self away and intently seek God and a word from Him to re-unify me…sometimes that happens during thr retreat, or it emerges after i return, but God is faithful. I pray that His Faithfulness be evident in your life, your mind, your soul and spirit.

    i also (kinda tongue-n-cheek) pray for the wealth of the wicked to come to you (through the breakdown of vbehicles that need major and minor repairs!)

    peace

  3. April 19, 2007 1:37 am

    great there goes my car…suck! 😉

Leave a Reply

