Skip to content

Deist or Christian?

June 2, 2007

I once heard John Wimber – probably on a tape since I only saw him live a couple times – say that most of us are more deist than Christian. I’ve been pondering that for years. Passages that involve healings and raising the dead bring this into a sharper focus for me. I find myself in this place of “Lord, i believe. Help my unbelief!” The reasons for me for side stepping this issue are legion. For one, wacky charismatics turn me off. When things get whipped up into a frenzy I start to lose patience then interest. That’s another thing I loved about John. He would often encourage the room to “dial down” before a time of healing prayer ministry. He intentionally would not let those prayed for or those praying become overly or falsely emotional. This I saw and heard. Another reason I’m sure I struggle with these passages is the sea of Enlightenment thinking we all swim in these days. If it can’t be perceived and explained by the five senses then validity is questioned. So since I’ve never seen someone raised from the dead or read an authoritative (?) medical report the questions creep in. Although there are some encouraging signs in science among other fields that question Enightenment only type thinking.

Here’s how I’m currently thinking about this: We do not live in a closed system. We live a layered universe that is more than we can experience with our five senses and inhabited by beings beyond our normal perception … angels, demons and God for starters. Under God’s authority unseen personalities (ie beings with minds, wills, even emotions) – including God – act in ‘our’ universe.

Seemed clearer before I started writing… that rarely happens… back to the drawing board… there’s more rattling around in me than I’m communicating… ahhhh! Coffee… that should do the trick. Be back later!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2007 2:54 am

    I’m eager to know your thoughts on this. Questions, questions, and I’m seeking answers.

  2. June 3, 2007 12:04 pm

    Kevin,

    You should check out this book:

    http://www.amazon.com/Worship-Community-Triune-God-Grace/dp/0830818952/ref=sr_1_1/104-1026087-5053561?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1180872052&sr=8-1

    It is Torrance’s take on that exact problem with Christian culture. His take – we do not worship in a Trinitarian fashion.

    Jason

  3. June 3, 2007 12:35 pm

    i continue to have more questions than answers as i pursue following after Jesus…although every now-and-again, i must somehow stumble onto what He is doing, and that is the time that the questions melt away and the-stuff happens…then i sit in awe afterwards and contemplate the Spirit of our hidden-yet-revealing God in Christ Jesus…

    (PS – as a civil servant of the american people in their federal gov’t, i am really surprised at how much it comes up that we are a ‘christian nation’ in conversation/media/blogging. the founding fathers made this a deist nation, check the orginial paperwork – if you come to the nat’l archives, i might help! the founding fathers used deist terms in their deep embrace of the enlightenment…no where is Christ mentioned. )

  4. June 3, 2007 1:11 pm

    Kevin,

    Keep pressing in. I’m thinking about the same things.

    Geoff

Trackbacks

  1. Deist or Christian? « the kedge « Life Is an Art

Leave a Reply

