Skip to content

Before it gets taken…

August 21, 2007

That’s probably a horrible, reactive, and paranoid reason to post this but i wanted to get it out there so it doesn’t get used. I’ve been working on my doctoral dissertation of late and essentially it is going to be a rule of life for the houehold I live in. It is only in the beginning stages and I don’t plan to implement anything until next year but a friend (Mike Helm) offered a great title that i am considering using and I wanted to record it and solicit feedback. “The Book of Common Life.” Before you knock it please note that my hero, Phyllis Tickle, likes it so… so… so there. What say ye?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2007 8:40 pm

    i say i like it! shades of ‘the book of common prayer’ heavily flavoured with ‘the rule of st. benedict’, with a side dish of life-changing salt and light to sprinkle over it…hmmm, or maybe i’m just hungry…

  2. Micah permalink
    August 22, 2007 2:10 am

    Not sure I get the logic… you want to make sure it doesn’t get used, so you’ll post it years before you’re ready to write it? Doesn’t that make it more likely to get used?

    But the title is good.

  3. August 22, 2007 5:00 pm

    Great title, go for it, and get that domain registered πŸ™‚

  4. August 23, 2007 6:25 am

    Title’s awesome, man. If you don’t use it, can I have it? πŸ™‚

  5. August 23, 2007 12:22 pm

    put me in for a couple copies… πŸ™‚

  6. August 23, 2007 12:54 pm

    Ha, I like it.

  7. August 23, 2007 12:59 pm

    Love it! and can’t wait to read it…

  8. August 25, 2007 3:52 pm

    relax my friend, its a good title. you get my vote.

  9. August 25, 2007 9:43 pm

    Kevin,

    Certainly is Godly, which is to say, Trinitarian, as God is “The Book of Common Life”. ‘Nuff said. Inspired. Praised be Jesus!


    Peace and All Good!
    Michael

  10. August 29, 2007 1:24 pm

    Phyllis Tickle is an impressive endorsement. How about a foreward by Dallas Willard.

    And if you get a posthumous quote from Henri Nouwen to put on the back of the cover, I would buy a case…think you can swing that?

  11. Rambo permalink
    August 29, 2007 5:08 pm

    K-Monk,

    You little name droper! I’m sure your close personal friends from Over the Rhine would write some kind of somethin’-somethin’! Actually, you’ve taken the title of my dissertation but since you’ve gone public no one will believe that I came up with such a wonderful title on my own, plus I have no one’s name to drop as proof to my brilliance in coming up with dissertation titles. Drat!

    go ahead, steal my stuff, I love you anyways…

    grace from the pacific northwest

Leave a Reply

