Skip to content

a mini-homily for Jeff Cannell, since he asked…

November 24, 2007

It really is only a few minutes long… I couldn’t figure out how to cut the extraneous audio out… DG, help!!!!! For better or worse here’s my next attempt. You get to see me in my natural habitat, unshowered, battling a cold, early morning, pre-coffee…. I briefly discuss how an ancient Rabbi taught me to value my father’s perennially dirty hands and what that has to teach us about letting Scripture sink deeply into our skin and how we then carry it around with us everywhere…    

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2007 7:18 pm

    love it….non-caffeinated self and extraneous audio and all…makes me reflect on the application to the significance of tattoos…

  2. November 24, 2007 8:20 pm

    Lovely!

  3. Linda W. permalink
    November 25, 2007 2:08 am

    Just discovered the website Sustainable Faith. Love it!

    I totally agree with your comments here. Exposure to God’s Word changes us. Three Scriptures flooded my mind, as I listened to your video.

    Hebrews 4:12 Where we learn that the Word of God is like a powerful sword, piercing through everything. Nothing is hidden.

    Psalm 119 The incredibly long and priceless Psalm which describes the blessings and benefits of God’s Word.

    Matthew 7:24-27 The story of the wise man who built his house upon the rock and was able to withstand the storm. Jesus told the story to emphasize that those who are not only hearers, but also doers of the Word of God, will be able to withstand the storms of life.

    I will be 53 years old in one month. I have walked with Jesus since age 15. I’ve been through good times and bad times. The single factor through it all that has determined whether I went through the circumstances as a victor or victim has been how active a role I was allowing God’s Word to play in my life at the time.

    Soaking in God’s Word has saved me. Those times when I have gotten a little too busy and have let God’s Word and His Presence slip from 1st place in my life are the times that I have not weathered the storms of life very well.

    Thanks be to God for the power of His Word!

  4. Stephen permalink
    November 25, 2007 8:49 pm

    Greetings
    I enjoyed the quote and the music and your thoughts!
    Can you point me in the direction of the ancient rabbi and the artist that performed the music.
    Thanks

  5. November 30, 2007 8:53 pm

    Thanks Kevin– Now for some more. Talk to us about hospitality, eating together, maybe some advent meditations.

    Take care,

Leave a Reply

