Skip to content

You all know I’m a name dropper so here’s one…

November 26, 2007

41jickeivdl_aa240_.jpg Matthew Sleeth came to the Brownhouse last night. He wrote the book Serve God, Save the Planet. It was my favorite read of 2007. It really combines the ideas of stewarding the earth with simplicity in a way that is very inspiring and doable as opposed to the guilt inducing method of “You’re a rich a american and you owe to the world to blah, blah, blah…” The best part about Matthew’s message is that he is living it. He was a successful ER doctor who decided to move into a house the size of his former garage (with wife and 2 kids… the real heroes!) and start speaking and writing on creation care. Check out the book… fantastic.  He said he used to tell people that asked him “What is the first thing I should do?” to change all the light bulbs in their house to compact fluorescents. Now he encourages them to keep the Sabbath.   Another nugget for me was when he said the thing God likes most next people is trees. He asked where is the most comfortable chair in most homes? Answer: right in front of the TV. God’s throne looks out over a massive tree (Rev 22) and he opens his story in Genesis with a tree and he teaches us to pray by looking at trees (Psalm 1)… God loves trees. I find this especially meaningful in light of the fact that I climbed hundreds of trees as a kid and now I have one tattooed on my arm.  

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2007 1:27 pm

    That is a great book and he seems like a great guy. Sleeth spoke at Mars Hill, Rob Bell’s church, a while back and I just listened to the podcast last week, in fact. Wonderful stuff.

  2. Rambo permalink
    November 28, 2007 9:41 pm

    You are the Jedi-name-dropper master. I am in awe. There must be some kind of mind trick to it that you’ve mastered and refuse to share with the world, which is probably the safest thing for you to do.

    I’ll save remarks of depth, insight, contemplation, etc for others to post. I’ll be the smart-ass friend who lobs comments from the outside in.

    miss you

  3. July 25, 2013 11:39 am

    I recently much like the beneficial data anyone source in your posts. I will search for your own blog page along with examine again right here often. I’m somewhat certain I shall be explained to a good amount of brand new information in this article! Good luck for the following!

  4. June 25, 2014 4:07 am

    Together with every thing which appears to be building within this particular subject material, all your opinions are generally relatively exciting.
    Nonetheless, I beg your pardon, because I do not subscribe to your entire plan, all be it exhilarating none the
    less. It looks to me that your opinions are not completely justified and in simple fact you are generally your self not totally confident of your argument.
    In any event I did take pleasure in reading through it.

  5. July 1, 2014 1:03 am

    Well I sincerely enjoyed reading it. This tip procured by you is very practical for
    proper planning.

  6. September 21, 2014 7:30 am

    Thanks a lot for the helpful write-up. It is also my opinion that mesothelioma has
    an really long latency time period, which means that signs and symptoms
    of the disease won’t emerge until eventually 30 to 50 years after the initial exposure to asbestos.

    Pleural mesothelioma, which is the most common form and has an effect on the area around the lungs, might cause shortness of breath, chest pains, including a persistent
    cough, which may result in coughing up blood.

  7. October 2, 2014 3:16 am

    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the page layout of your site?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  8. October 27, 2015 2:47 am

    How toward drop stomach excess weight?

  9. August 23, 2016 1:21 am

    Thanks , I’ve just been looking for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I have found out till now. But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the source?|What i don’t understood is in truth how you are no longer really much more well-favored than you might be right now. You are so intelligent.

Leave a Reply

