Skip to content

How do people change?

November 5, 2008

This is a question I have been obessesed with for a long time and by a long time I mean like 20 years. It goes by different names and has different applications in various disciplines and fields of study: transformation, spirtual formation, discipleship, even leadership is all about change… helping people change and changing environments.

So I’m constantly on the look out for tools which I know is only one aspect of what is needed for change but it is an important one. Antoher thing that could be explored here would be the role of environments for change. That’s for a future post though…

A couple great books that I’ve been digging into lately are Influencer: The Power to Change Anything and The Power of Full Engagement. I put these books up there with some of the best of the best books on change, leadership, and personal development. Again, these books would require and deserve several posts of their own. They are worth the full price many times over.

For now I wanted to just focus on one idea that has been resonating lately for me and it serves as a very practical tool for change and that is the power of rituals. There are whole sections of the book The Power of Full Engagement that speak to this but the basic idea is this. If you want to change something in your life ie you have a deep value for something but its not being expressed in your life then create a simple, repeatable ritual that expresses that value. For me recently a big value that has atrophied has been empowering others. I have found myself in my business and in church life not wanting to let go and trust others with key tasks so I’ve added a couple weekly meeting: one with my manager at the shop that is focused on his development and the shop goals and one with a team of people for Vineyard Central where we work together on specific facets of VC’s life but where my role is coordinating and not so as much doing/controlling and more trusting and letting others have the reigns.

Oh I’m just getting started on this one… there is much to explore… so I’ve got some traction and it feels good…

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 1:14 pm

    ahhh, the wisdom of the monastics cometh again…

Leave a Reply

