Skip to content

the context and direction of my blog

November 8, 2009

Yes, I have started blogging in earnest again. No, I doubt that many people really care. I once had a pretty good “following” of my blog. People who were interested in house churches, or new monasticism or intentional community or bi-vocational ministry… some really interesting people used to read that blog and many of them started their own blogs and had a lot of great things to say and could say it very well.

But That season has passed. There are parts of that which still interest me of course. But also have new interests and a desire to integrate past learning with new directions and fresh applications. Blogging for me has always been about making sense of my life and finding the deeper purpose. It has truly been an online journal where I publicly wrestled with sincere questions (see my last post) and tried to gain understanding about the pieces of my life all in the wider context of following Christ. I am by nature an innovator, an experimenter. Having a place to write about my findings and my confusion was more than helpful, it was essential so I wouldn’t get ‘lost in the sauce’ as the chef’s say.

So, I’m writing again. Here’s what hasn’t changed.

I’m still following Christ and wanting to get better and better at obeying him and being like him but in my context and time. He’s not only a hero but a present teacher and guide for my life.

I’m still living ‘in community’ (going on 15 years now) i.e. I share a home not only with my immediate family but also with several friends that are allies in the pursuit of seeing God’s kingdom come and his will be done in west Norwood and in our various spheres of influence. We have a rhythm of morning prayer and evenings meals and weekly ‘church’ meeting. I’m hoping and planning on an even more shared weekly rhythm in the months and years ahead.

I’m still a part of Vineyard Central and in a house church connected to it.

I still own an auto body shop in central Cincinnati (Norwood) but I’m no longer really bi-vocational as that is all I’m doing professionally at the moment.

I’m still pursuing my doctorate at George Fox University and seminary and if I can just sit down enough times at this computer and get my dissertation written I will be finally and fully done.

And that brings me full circle to this blog. That is the direction I’m heading. I’m writing about topics that will eventually make their way into my dissertation. “What is my dissertation about?” is the #1 question I get asked when people find out I’m doing a doctorate. I intend to write a curriculum for Christlikeness as a basis for a new missional monastic order. It’s first application will likely be an internship that is run in the Brownhouse and possibly another house or 2 in west Norwood but it will be open for anyone who wants to follow our rhythm of life in their own context. The actual writing will end up as a web based prayer-book/ discipleship manual with the current working title of “The book of common life.” (that title was given to me; Thanks and credit to Mike Helm).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 5:02 pm

    It’s great to hear where you’re aiming and what’s up as life is shifting. I’m on a similar shift, still looking at similar things, and it’s great to see what you’re processing. Surf on!

  2. November 8, 2009 10:21 pm

    Kevin,

    You can finish this “once and for all.” I know you can. So, at GFU, you are doing a “written statement” and a “media piece?” Is that correct?

    Like the example of Jesus before you, set you face, in this case, toward Portland, and with intention, you can really accomplish something that will be useful to many folks who, as you say, want to “follow [your] rhythm of life.” Or, create their own rhythm of life based on the fact that someone has pioneered it in this time and space.

  3. November 9, 2009 4:41 pm

    Hi Kevin, you say, “Blogging for me has always been about making sense of my life and finding the deeper purpose. ”

    I’ve followed your blogging for quite a while, and one of the things that has moved me is your transparency in your struggles for sense and deeper purpose. If it makes sense, you’ve helped me to risk my faith…over the past few years I’ve become involved in working with First Nations youth on a local reserve, working with inner city poverty at food bank and soup kitchen, and last year started visiting inmates in prison. I may have done it, but I think your struggles with being more missional, and your profound sense of hospitality certainly encouraged me. So I thank you, and pray we both continue to struggle to be all the Christ is, and to live it. Peace.

  4. November 14, 2009 9:40 pm

    Good to have you back (so to speak) Kevin. I look forward to reading what you decide to post, and to following how your dissertation and related reading and thinking is going.

    Peace to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

