Skip to content

sage business advice from a farmer/poet

December 10, 2009

When I think “business” I don’t typically think “Wendell Berry.” But wisdom is wisdom and this opening poem from his latest collection inspires me to work well and wisely. (Thanks Dan… I think all the poetry you send me might finally be rubbing off)

___________________________________

From Leavings:

Like Snow

Suppose we did our work
like the snow, quietly, quietly,
leaving nothing out.

_________________________________

+++   In quietness and rest is your strength says the Lord God via the prophet Isaiah. Help me Lord work quietly and thoroughly in the absolute confidence that it is You guiding and leading and growing and giving all the increase. As we plant and nurture I know it is only you that can make things grow. So today I will work quietly, thoroughly and confidently.  +++

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 1:51 am

    The “quietly” is so hard. I know it’s a weakness, but I want to be noticed, recognized, in my work.

Leave a Reply

