Skip to content

Lectio John 20 :: The new Gardener

April 24, 2011

He is Risen… and that changes everything!

I love this story where Mary Magdalene encounters Jesus. She goes from deep sadness to astonishment. She is greatly surprised. She thinks he’s the gardener.

And he is. The Gardener. God placed Adam, the first man, in a garden. Now the New Man, The One is mistaken for the gardener. John is not just reporting here. He is calling us back to the start of our sprawling, epic story. THIS is the new start… the beginning of the restoration of all things. Adam was the original man and original gardener.

Today is the start of something new…

I had a couple realizations yesterday. i was feeling early in the morning this new surge of energy and thinking that I have done nothing to foster that. I am not particularly rested. I was not working on anything that really excited me…. it was the start of a day off. I certainly was not feeling particularly righteous either! But there it was. A new energy for… what? No idea. I sensed God saying it had nothing to do with me earning it or even fostering it. It was a gift and he wants to do something through me so I would need it.

Had a great day with the older kids. Zoe to First watch for breakfast date. Izaac to Lexington to look at motorcycles.

Later that night I had another realization. I was becoming a huge consumer. I am a huge consumer. I watch movies non stop on the weekends. Passively consuming entertainment. But I want to be a producer. I want to grow things, make things, build things… real things. Tangible things.

+++ Lord, will teach me to tend and grow with you in your garden? I want to build and re-rebuild, to create and make things of beauty and value. I want to be engaged in your work of making all things new. Please show me the way and keep giving me energy to do the work when I’d rather do something else, something passive. Help me to stay engaged in good, creative work! +++

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 1:32 pm

    Thanks for the wonderful and inspiring insight on this fine Easater morning! May our risen Lord continue to bless you as you share with others. Truly you are blooming where you have been planted. Best wishes to you and your family.

  2. Sylvia permalink
    April 26, 2011 10:19 pm

    The Gardener has been doing some plowing in my heart recently, tearing out some brambles….yeah.

    Thanks for a good post. GBU

  3. April 27, 2011 1:02 pm

    amen…may our work and play and rest and even consumption be full of redemption. i’m glad we get to farm in the same part of the garden, neighbor. 🙂

  4. April 27, 2011 1:03 pm

    oh, gosh. emoticons embarrass me :/

  5. June 18, 2011 1:30 pm

    Great work once again. Thanks)

Leave a Reply

