Skip to content

What’s next? > Becoming a writer.

July 17, 2011

I have a good friend who gave me some of the most obvious, yet profound advice I have ever received about becoming a writer: “A writer is someone who writes.” Well, that simplifies things! I have always wanted to be a writer and just envisioned that I would eventually become one when…

1. I had something really, really important to say

2. been offered a book deal by a publisher

3. had reached a level of insight on a particular topic that would allow me to  say something truly original — something that had never been said before!

4. had perfected my writing skills.

5. Had an audience that was hanging on my every word.

Nope.

“A writer is someone who writes.”

Well, I guess that makes me a writer already in one sense: this blog has started to come alive again. I get up in the morning and feel like I have something to say and can hardly wait to get to my study and start processing (praying!) on the page (aka screen).

I’m still hopeful that these thoughts and words will eventually coalesce into something more than ‘just a blog.’ (or as I like to refer to my morning posts – borrowing from Anne Lamott – “S.F.D’s”.) I think there might be some longer, more coherent ‘books’ in me. Yes, I put books in quotes not out of fear but because the nature of ‘books’ is changing so rapidly… it might be an e-book or a series of longer pdf’s around a topic. Although I’m not against the old classic paper bound together under a cover type of books. I collect hundreds of those and love them as dear friends.

So what are some things I’d like to write about? Here’s an off-the-cuff list of things I think would be interesting to write about:

1. Monasticism 2.0: unpimping and remonking the church (stories from my experience and thinking about living communally in an urban neighborhood for over 15 years now.)

2. Generosity (a kingdom perspective on money and the joy of sharing it)

3. Placemaking: How to be a good neighbor for God’s sake (Placemaking is not my term but I love it!)

4. Church planting for everyone: how you can start churches in living rooms and pubs

5. Formed: a curriculum for Christlikeness for our time

6. Mom & Pop shop 2.0: How local businesses change neighborhoods for good

So just in case there are any publishers out there who read this blog those are some topics I’m already thinking and writing about…. but I’m not waiting for you! I’m already a writer. ( I will however take your call and respond to any offers.<grin>)

P.S. If you want to get an email when I post just put your email address in that little box over there on the right >>> (thanks for subscribing!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2011 1:28 pm

    I’m no publisher, but I would definitely be a purchaser! God’s given you the gift, both as an author (artist) and as an insightful leader.

  2. Zena permalink
    July 17, 2011 8:40 pm

    looking forward to what you’ve listed here and more.

    – zena

  3. Greg permalink
    July 19, 2011 3:25 am

    I will buy the first 100 copies and give them all away! Write on Brother, write on!!!

Leave a Reply

