Skip to content

What’s next? > A humble submission to the church > Part II

October 26, 2011

So I have a little confession. I have a huge crush on the Anglican church. Over the past 10 years or so I’ve been downright infatuated with Anglican, Catholic, and Orthodox churches… I’ve been drawn to their liturgy, their historicity, and yes, even their theology. Here are some of the things that I think have drawn me toward more liturgical churches…

1. Doing retreats at the Abbey of Gethsemani

2. Being part of Vineyard Central and owning a former Catholic church building

3. Being introduced to fixed hour prayer by Phyllis Tickle via the Divine Hours prayer books.

4. Having a grandpa that was Episcopalian and took me to church as an infant (and some reports say he even had me baptized there…)

5. Inheriting my grandpa’s collection of Books of Common Prayer especially his gilded, leather bound one with his name on it

6. Watching friends convert to Catholicism and Orthodoxy.

7. Reading books by high church people like Robert Webber, N.T. Wright and Phyllis Tickle

8. Studying church history especially the monastics, founders of religious orders and church fathers

Most recently though this crush has started to turn into a connection. Through the experience of helping organize and present at Sustain and Missio I’ve sensed a real longing to (re)connect with those roots in my family tree, with the spiritual DNA passed down from my grandfather. Missio was hosted at Christ Church Cathedral – my grandfather’s church home until he died –  by the director of Fresh Expression’s for the Diocese of Southern Ohio, Jane Gerdsen who has become a dear friend and someone I hope to conspire much kingdom goodness with!

So, let me ask the obvious question. Am I becoming Episcopalian? And of course there is a qualified YES. Yes, I am moving toward the Anglican Communion but not in any way that will exclude my non-Anglican friends or uproot me from my local context and connections. I’ll forever be “ecumenical” at heart and rooted in the soil of Norwood, OH. But in many ways I already feel like I am Anglican (aka Episcopalian) because of my baptism as an infant and I’m just learning to become what I already am…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Rambo permalink
    October 26, 2011 4:20 pm

    Carter, when he reads this, will have a big grin on his face and say: Kev, it’s about time! Good words…happy journey!

  2. October 26, 2011 10:02 pm

    I sympathize. I’m rediscovering Catholic roots, love the Anglicans and the Orthodox, but still find myself in something like a new-Celtic and Anabaptist mode..

  3. Andrea permalink
    October 28, 2011 10:28 pm

    Welcome home Kevin!

  4. October 30, 2011 12:08 pm

    That’s great, Kevin. Anglicanism has meant and does mean a great deal to me so I can only be happy for you!

  5. November 5, 2011 1:44 am

    Of course I’m not surprised by any of this. And, of course, I understand the drawing. We didn’t have enough time to sit and deep-talk the last time we were together. We should do that soon. May the Holy Spirit guide you in this new/old path.

  6. December 2, 2011 6:48 pm

    Fascinating Kevin…some parallels with my own journey. I hope all is well with you and the family…. The Spirit blows where the Spirit blows…

Leave a Reply

