Skip to content
17 Comments leave one →
  1. wrightb4 permalink
    October 14, 2012 2:19 pm

    Favorite OTR line of all time. I have a painting with that line on it I’ll show you sometime.
    Good post!!

    • October 14, 2012 2:41 pm

      It’s such a great line, isn’t it?! Can’t wait to see the painting…

  2. October 14, 2012 3:42 pm

    I have been asking myself that question all year and am now starting to take steps forward as I am working through what holds me back. Working on what I am aware of and asking God to surface what I am not conscious of. Thanks for sharing and praying our journey’s surface our hearts desires into reality.

    • October 14, 2012 4:01 pm

      Sandie, If you’re being held back I can’t wait to see what happens when you’re freed up! Things will get very interesting, very fast when that happens and I am here as a huge fan and supporter… prayers are just the starting point. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do…. now when is that double date dinner we’ve been trying to get on the calendar?

  3. Stacie S. permalink
    October 14, 2012 6:36 pm

    I really appreciate this post – it speaks to where I am in a lot of ways and where God is meeting me through my community and relationships.

    Thank you especially for this: “Grief is not something that was meant to be handled alone. It takes a community of people…” This is an area I really didn’t fully embrace until the last few weeks. It doesn’t feel nearly as scary anymore!

    And this: “Then one day I realized I was never asked to be the manager of their feelings or reactions.”

    • October 14, 2012 7:17 pm

      Thanks for this Stacie! Without community I would literally be lost… I’m glad you’ve found people to love and to be loved by! That is a priceless treasure that few find…

  4. October 14, 2012 9:47 pm

    Well, you just spoke to my soul! I’m not sure what the hell I’m supposed to do with it, kind feels like I’m perpetually treading water and probably more like drowning. I know I will not drowned because of my faith in Christ, but FEELS like drowning.

    I think I’ve got more of #1 & #2. But I’m so sick of it. Haven’t seen a professional, and I do miss having a real authentic community.

    Thanks for making me think. Love ya!

    • October 14, 2012 10:40 pm

      DG, what do you do with it? Tell me when you’re available for coffee or lunch this week of course! =) You were/are there for me in so many ways and I’d love to be a part of what comes next you for my friend… the best is yet to come! (and I don’t mean in just an eschatological way but that too of course!)

  5. Debbie permalink
    October 15, 2012 3:29 am

    Every week my friend asks me, “what’s holding you back?” Thank you for defining it and stating why those things that hold me back should not. Hopefully I will let those things not hold me back and I will focus on my business and on advocating for my child while being a great mom for my other children.

    • October 15, 2012 1:25 pm

      Wow Debbie, every week?! That’s amazing. What a powerful way to stay accountable for forward movement and progress in your life… never occurred to me to use it that often but its a wonderful idea.

  6. October 15, 2012 12:01 pm

    Thank you do much for this word. Very encouraging.
    Cate. http://www.wingedprisms.wordpress.com

    • October 15, 2012 1:26 pm

      Cate, Thanks for reading! I;m going to check out your blog right now…

  7. October 15, 2012 12:21 pm

    Hey Kevin – this is such a great way to set up the series you’re intending and I so agree with your opening about a true friend question – my wife challenges and humbles me at every turn and it’s why she’s such an amazing friend. Look forward to more!

    • October 15, 2012 1:29 pm

      Our spouses have a way of “keeping it real” since they have such a unique, daily perspective… my wife is rarely impressed but always affirming… and she knows how and when to challenge me… what a gift! Next installment coming right up =)

  8. October 16, 2012 6:05 am

    Kevin,
    Thank you for this writing. I’ve felt held back for quite a while now and I think the spinning wheels could evoke a big change in my life. I’ve felt it coming. It always appears to me that others are thriving and succeeding and accomplishing. I think fear and grief are counterparts. Afraid to call myself an artist, fear of putting my insides on the outside. And grief, well that’s a long story.
    Thank you…

    • October 16, 2012 11:47 pm

      Well Kylie, thanks for reading! What a joy to see you here…. you ARE an artist and I know this cuz I’ve seen some of your work! I love the image of “spinning wheels” evoking change… you know how drag cars will come up to the starting line and peel out, spinning their wheels? They do that to warm them up and increase traction for when the real race begins… so spinning wheels isn’t all wasted time…. here’s to you getting massive traction in this season of life!!

Trackbacks

  1. Be fully alive! (Part 1) « the kedge

Leave a Reply

